The playlist and other internal dialogue 

Less than 10 weeks to go, most weekends now I’m doing a 2 -3 hour run each day. With this much time, often over fairly familiar ground, the brain has a tendency to wander….

 Sometimes I am breaking down the 100km into pieces my brain can comprehend:

100km equals 5 x half marathons, right…and my ideal goal then  must be 3 x 4hour legs to the final checkpoint at 75km (plus a final crawl home)…. 

Okay then I’ll have to be faster than 5.7km/hr for 13 hours to avoid the cut off at the final checkpoint. But what does 5.7km/hr look like well it’s slightly faster than a fast walk, or 10 minute K’s

Well that’s just a good honest shuffle….

Other times though, my internal playlist kicks in, and one of the true joys of being a Dad is the change in the playlist that has come about.

Now when I’m out running the songlist my brain chooses from is less of this…

https://youtu.be/MuwLU2z2Cx0

And more of this

 https://youtu.be/SVEAro-eIQc

And this

https://youtu.be/cyVzjoj96vs

100km is going to be a doddle….

1 thought on “ The playlist and other internal dialogue ”

Leave a Reply

